2014 Writing Goals

I honestly did have plans to update this blog more often. Unfortunately plans never seem to work out that way with me, even at the best of times.

November was the usual madness of Nanowrimo with the added bonus of an office move and extra workload. I still prevailed, but I’m left where I usually after Nano – a partially written novel and no idea where to go next with it. Fortunately the Nanowrimo site has stepped up with a “Now what?” months and the local Nano group has promised some pestering too.

So my goals for 2014:

Edit the last Nanowrimo with the eye towards the June deadline for Createspace. I’ve done some of the initial prep work, formatting and outlining what I had originally. Figuring what stays and goes or whether this gets split into two books is the next act in my three ring circus.

Finish writing the prequel story and make sure changes from Nano synch up properly. The backstory of the war didn’t change, but the religion/worldbuilding did significantly and some characters will as well.

I’m debating whether to submit something to SwoonReads. Over Christmas I was working on a YA historical fantasy (1920s New York) that I realized fit their requirements storywise – the only thing I’m concerned about is length. I haven’t plotted it out completely, so I don’t know if it’ll be long enough. (Maybe a Rebel project for Camp Nano?)

So… too much? Should I only focus on the Nano revision?

3 Responses to “2014 Writing Goals”


  1. 1 Jules January 9, 2014 at 7:27 pm

    Those all sound like do-able goals 🙂 Good luck with them.

  2. 2 Tamela January 10, 2014 at 2:45 am

    Those sound totes doable! And I might not be the best advice to follow, but I’ve found that having more than one project to work on staves off boredom and keeps me going. Plus, it’s nice to have a back up if one proves to big of a PitA at the time.

    Good luck!

  3. 3 wedschild January 11, 2014 at 12:48 am

    I think they both look like something that can be finished. If you switch off between them, you might not get as bored or frustrated as you’re working.

    Of course, I’m completely insane and tend to have project ADD, so your mileage may vary, but go for it. We’ll poke you.

    Remember, even if you don’t complete everything on your goals, you’ll have done more than if you never set them. (That was your pretentious and prophetic statement for the night.)


Leave a Reply

